Beginner ensemble music for brass, wind & strings.

Helping your fledgling band to spread its wings during the first year of playing, Stepping Stones includes 25 simple ensemble pieces.

Starting out with just 5 notes in all the instrument parts, the range is increased step by step, up to 9 notes.

Ideal for wind and brass training groups, with additional parts for percussion, piano, guitar and strings. (Please note, string parts are restricted to 1st position notes, but are mostly in Bb and Eb major. A separate string edition, in friendlier keys, is available)


  • 5 notes:
  • Mary had a little lamb
  • Little Bo Peep
  • Ode to Joy
  • Itsy Bitsy Spider
  • When the Saints go marching in

  • 6 notes:
  • Twinkle, twinkle little star
  • Au clair de la lune
  • Frere Jacques
  • Old MacDonald
  • The Sussex Carol

  • 7 notes:
  • While shepherds watched
  • Tallis Canon
  • Yankee Doodle
  • God Save the Queen
  • if you're happy and you know it

  • 8 notes:
  • Fight the good fight
  • Senwa Dedende
  • Cwm Rhondda
  • Suo Gan
  • Kalinka

  • 9 notes:
  • Men of Harlech
  • Praise my soul the King of Heaven
  • Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  • Personent Hodie
  • Give me Joy in my Heart


  • Flute, Oboe & Descant Recorder
  • 1st Clarinet
  • 2nd Clarinet
  • Alto Sax
  • Tenor Sax
  • Bassoon
  • Tenoroon in F
  • Mini Bassoon in G

  • 1st Trumpet
  • 2nd Trumpet
  • French Horn
  • Tenor Horn
  • Trombone in C (bass clef)
  • Trombone in Bb (treble clef)
  • Tuba in C (bass clef)
  • Bass in Eb (treble clef)
  • Bass in Bb (treble clef

  • Violin I
  • Violin II
  • Viola
  • Cello

  • Percussion (2 players)
  • Piano
  • Guitar

Have a look through the score...


We provide flexible, imaginative and enjoyable music for junior ensembles. Our arrangements cover brass, woodwind and string instruments (and usually percussion too) and are aimed at musicians in their first 4 or 5 years of learning an instrument.

All our music is provided as PDF downloads, so you can keep the music you've bought on your computer or tablet, and print off parts whenever you need.

The music has been arranged by Matt Kingston

Matt's website